Academic Calendar

Academic Year 2017-18

2018 - Spring Semester

Students in semesters 1, 2, and 3 will be in Sint Maarten and students in semesters 4 and 5 will be in Preston, UK

Week 1 Monday, January 15 First day of the semester: Sint Maarten and Preston
Week 2 Monday, January 22 Weekly Quiz #1: Semesters 1-4 (depends on course)
Week 3 Monday, January 29 Weekly Quiz #2: Semesters 1-4
Week 4 Monday, February 5 Weekly Quiz #3: Semesters 1-4
Week 5 Monday, February 12 Weekly Quiz #4: Semesters 1-4
Friday, February 16 Exam 1A (required)
Week 6 Monday, February 19 Exam 1B (optional)
Friday, February 23 Celebration of Academic Excellence: Sint Maarten
Saturday, February 24 Community Action Day: Sint Maarten
Week 7 Monday, February 26 Weekly Quiz #5: Semesters 1-4
Saturday, March 3 Community Action Day: Preston
Sunday, March 4 Celebration of Academic Excellence: Preston
Week 8 Monday, March 5 Weekly Quiz #6: Semesters 1-4
Week 9 Monday, March 12 Weekly Quiz #7: Semesters 1-4
Week 10 Monday, March 19 Weekly Quiz #8: Semesters 1-4
Friday, March 23 Exam 2A (required)
Week 11 Monday, March 26 Exam 2B (optional)
Friday, March 30 No class: Good Friday
Week 12 Monday, April 2 No class: Easter
Tuesday, April 3 Weekly Quiz #9: Semesters 1-4
Week 13 Monday, April 9 Weekly Quiz #10: Semesters 1-4
Week 14 Monday, April 16 Weekly Quiz #11: Semesters 1-4
Friday, April 20 Last day of classes
Week 15 Monday, April 23 Exam 1 and 2 make-ups in Sint Maarten and Preston
  Monday-Thursday, April 23-26 Final exam week
  Friday, April 27 Public holiday in Sint Maarten
Week 16 Tuesday, May 1 Final exam make-ups in Sint Maarten and Preston
  Friday, May 4 Remediation Comprehensive Exams (RemComp) in Sint Maarten and Preston

IMPORTANT:
  • End of Semester: Students planning to leave Sint Maarten or Preston after the semester should plan to travel no earlier than Friday, April 27th. 
  • Course Information: Detailed course information is posted in AUC’s learning management system, Blackboard, at https://auc.blackboard.com.
  • Student Handbook: Please refer to the January 2018 AUC Student Handbook for information on policies regarding your academic obligations, exam procedures, grading, and other matters during this semester.


2018 - Summer Semester

Monday, May 7 First day of the semester
Tuesday, May 8 Welcome, orientation and formal instruction
Monday, August 20-24 Final exam period
Friday, August 24 Semester ends

2018 - Fall Semester

Monday, September 3 First day of the semester
Tuesday, September 4 Welcome, orientation and formal instruction
Monday, December 17-21 Final exam period
Friday, December 21 Semester ends