AUC “All-Star” Awarded Student Engagement Award

February 5, 2015

AUC student Angela Barreto (right), recipient of the Student Engagement Award, is pictured with her son, Zacheriah Benton (left)—a fellow AUC student and recent Alumni Heritage Scholarship recipient—at his White Coat Ceremony. 

We’re proud to announce that Angela Barreto, of Houston, Texas, is the spring 2015 recipient of American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine’s (AUC) Student Engagement Award. This $5,000 scholarship recognizes students whose campus community activities have helped foster and enhance AUC’s culture of collaboration.

“Angela is a student who gives of her time willingly to help others in any capacity possible. This is the mark of a true leader and the type of physician-in-training we at AUC are proud to reward,” said Theresa Boyd, M.D., associate professor of pathology. “She is an active thinker, she is innovative, and she is passionate in her desire to help others — Angela is one of the ‘all-stars’ at AUC,” she said.

Ms. Barreto earned her Master of Public Health (Professional Option Biology) from University of North Texas Health Science Center, Fort Worth. Before attending AUC, Ms. Barreto was a nurse for over 20 years and, after deciding on a career change, steadfastly worked toward her dream of becoming a physician. “My path to medical school was a lengthy one,” Ms. Barretto said. “However, throughout my life, I have been absolute in my devotion to be a physician.”

Throughout her medical sciences years at AUC, Ms. Barreto has served in leadership roles such as president of the AUC chapter of the American Medical Association, volunteered for numerous Community Action Day initiatives and assisted fellow physicians-in-training through her role as an Anatomy Teaching Assistant.

“My intentions of becoming a primary care physician and running a nonprofit community-based health clinic are clear,” said Ms. Barreto. “I have the conviction to continue to play a major role in the community by extending my career in medicine and I am honored that this scholarship recognizes my dedication.”