Clinical Faculty Awards

Recognizing Outstanding Clinical Faculty

With hospital affiliations around the world, AUC students benefit from the experience and expertise of hundreds of clinical faculty members. To acknowledge those instructors who go above and beyond in teaching and guiding our students, AUC developed the Clinical Faculty Teaching Award. 

Nominations are currently being accepted through E*Value. The first awards will be made in 2018.

I. Eligibility

To be nominated, a clinical faculty member must be affiliated with an AUC clinical site and teach one of the following clerkships: family medicine, internal medicine, general surgery, OB/GYN, psychiatry or pediatrics. The faculty member must also teach at least five (5) AUC students per year.  

II. Selection Criteria

Outstanding clinical faculty should diplay the following qualities:

  • dedication to student education;
  • enthusiasm and creativity;
  • ability to challenge and inspire students; and
  • focus on critical thinking and learning.

Awards will recognize faculty's professional and personal skills, personal attributes, and professional activities that provide evidence of positive mentoring skills, compassion and sensitivity, and collaboration of students and patients.

III. Selection Process

Students can nominate up to three (3) clinical faculty members per clinical rotation through their E*Value clerkship/elective evluation form (screen shot below). Each submission will count as one vote.

Once the voting period has closed, AUC Clinical Education Fellows will compile votes and submit them to a selection committee. That committee will select recipients based on votes, professional considerations, and the eligibility and criteria noted above. Up to three (3) nominees in each core specialty (plus family medicine) will be awarded per year for a potential of 18 award recipients. 

IV. E*Value Nomination Screen Shot

The following is a screen shot of the nomination question in students' E*Value clerkship/elective evluation form.