Haywood   Brown, MD

F. Bayard Carter Professor and Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Haywood L. Brown is a native of North Carolina.  He received his undergraduate degree from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University in Greensboro and his Medical Degree from Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.  He completed his residency training in Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences in Knoxville, Tennessee, followed by subspecialty fellowship training in Maternal and Fetal Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine/Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, Georgia.  Dr. Brown is Board Certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology and Maternal Fetal Medicine.

Dr. Brown returned to North Carolina in 2002 as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Duke University Medical Center in Durham, N.C.

Dr. Brown has served as the Co-Medical Director for the Indianapolis Healthy Babies Project and was active with the Indiana Perinatal Network, which is dedicated to decreasing infant mortality and the racial disparity for infant mortality.  He has also chaired the steering committee for the District of Columbia National Institutes of Health Initiative on Infant Mortality Reduction.  Dr. Brown is especially committed to the care of women at high risk for adverse pregnancy outcome, particularly those disadvantaged.

Dr. Brown as served as Chair of CREOG and he has served on the Board of Directors for the Society for Maternal Fetal Medicine and is past President of the Society.  He is past President of the American Gynecological Obstetrical Society (AGOS).  He also served as a Director of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.  Dr. Brown ispast president of the North Carolina Obstetrical and Gynecological Society and is immediate past District IV Chair of ACOG.

Dr. Brown was officially named the President-Elect of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists in May 2016 and will become the 68th President of ACOG in May 2017.