Susan   DeMesquita PhD

Professor and Chair Emeritus, Neuroscience and Physiology

Dr. Susan DeMesquita received her PhD in Medical Physiology from Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia in 1977.  Her area of research was directed by Eugene Aserinsky, PhD and explored the impact of airway obstruction on sleep pattern in the dog. She was appointed Assistant Professor of Physiology at Marshall University, School of Medicine in Huntington, West Virginia in 1977. She was responsible for teaching pulmonary physiology, renal/acid-base physiology and neurophysiology to first year medical students and won many teaching awards. During the next twenty-five years, she developed the only sleep research laboratory in the state and went on to attain tenured, full-professorship in the Physiology Department at Marshall University, School of Medicine.

During her time at Marshall University she was awarded the West Virginia Women's Commission Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science, The Presidential Service Award of Marshall University and Alpha Omega Alpha - Medical Honorary Society - Faculty Membership Award. Dr. DeMesquita was instrumental in establishing the West Virginia chapter of the Association for Women in Science. She spent a sabbatical year as a visiting research scientist studying memory processes at the National Institutes of Health.

In 2002 Dr. DeMesquita became Chair of the Physiology Department at Ross University School of Medicine in Dominica, West Indies. In January 2004 Dr. DeMesquita joined the American University of the Caribbean (AUC) Medical School in Sint Maarten, West Indies as Professor of Neuroscience. AUC administration recognized her as Chair the Department of Neuroscience in 2005. In 2007, she was appointed as the Chair of the Department of Neuroscience and Physiology at AUC.  She is currently the course director and teaches extensively in the neuroscience course given to the second year medical students. She directs three full-time physiology faculty, along with visiting physiologists, neuroscientists and clinicians. Over the years she has received four Faculty Appreciation Awards from senior AUC medical students. She is a member of the American Physiological Society, Society for Neuroscience, American Academy of Neurology and past member of the executive board of the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology. In March 2014 she was honored as a distinguished AUC faculty member and awarded the DeVry 2014 Faculty Excellence Award.